We will begin by reading Silas Marner, the third novel by Mary Ann Evens, published under the pen name of George Eliot. This classic story of a somewhat solitary weaver is also a tale of sin and redemptive love.   Considered one of the masterpieces of Victorian literature, Middlemarch was initially published in installments between 1871 and 1872. Detailing frustrated aspirations and the difficult marriages of Dorothea Brooke to Edward Casaubon and Tertius Lydgate to Rosamond Vincy , the novel also provides, as its subtitle suggests, a multifaceted examination of provincial life.

Course Texts: Silas Marner and Middlemarch. (Middlemarch was revised in 1874; most available texts will include those revisions.)

Instructor: Sr. Fran McManus, RSM

Thursdays, Oct. 7 – Nov. 18, 2021
Time: 12:30-1:30PM

This is a ZOOM course only

Fee: $60.00